Referee Jaco Peyper will be man in the middle this weekend. Photo: Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

CAPE TOWN – Jaco Peyper is the only South African match official named for Super Rugby quarterfinal duty this weekend.

He will be the referee for the Crusaders versus Highlanders match at the Orangetheory Stadium, Christchurch, New Zealand, on Friday.

The two SA sides Bulls and Sharks will have Australian and New Zealand refs working their quarterfinal matches on Saturday. 

After 18 rounds and 120 matches of the regular season, the quarterfinalists for the 2019 Super Rugby tournament have been confirmed by SANZAAR in accordance with the tournament rules. The configuration of the quarterfinals was only determined after the very last match of the season.

The quarterfinals kick-off on Friday evening in Christchurch when the Crusaders [1], the defending Champions, host the Highlanders from Dunedin [8]. This all New Zealand clash at the newly renamed Orangetheory Stadium will be refereed by Peyper.

The same evening in Buenos Aires the in-form Jaguares [2], who are on a five-match winning streak, will host the Chiefs [7] in QF3 who won their last three matches of the season to qualify for the Finals. The referee will be Australian Glen Jackson.

Saturday sees the Hurricanes, who won the right to host the match as the best non-conference winner, host the Bulls from Pretoria who qualified after winning the last match of the regular season when they beat the Lions. The referee will be Australian Nic Berry.

The last quarterfinal will take place in Canberra where Australian Conference winner, the Brumbies, on a six-match winning streak, take on the Sharks from Durban, who like the Bulls won their last pool match to clinch a spot in the Finals. 

Subscribe to the IOL Sport Newsletter!

The match officials are:

QF1: Crusaders v Highlanders, Orangetheory  Stadium, Christchurch
Referee: Jaco Peyper
AR1: Paul Williams
AR2: Brendon Pickerill
TMO: Ben Skeen

QF3: Jaguares v Chiefs, Jose Amalfitani Stadium, Buenos Aires
Referee: Glen Jackson
AR1: Nick Briant
AR2: Federico Anselmi
TMO: Santiago Borsani
QF2: Hurricanes v Bulls, Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Referee: Nic Berry
AR1: Ben O'Keeffe
AR2: Brendon Pickerill
TMO: Glenn Newman
QF4: Brumbies v Sharks, GIO Stadium, Canberra
Referee: Mike Fraser
AR1: Angus Gardner
AR2: Graham Cooper
TMO: James Leckie 

African News Agency (ANA)