Raymond Rhule was dropped from the Springbok team after a number of missed tackles. Photo: Deryck Foster/BackpagePix

CAPE TOWN – Wings Raymond Rhule and Sergeal Petersen will definitely turn out for the Stormers and WP next season after the Cheetahs confirmed their departures on Monday.

The Cheetahs announced their squad for their next two PRO14 games – against Zebre in Italy on Saturday and Connacht in Ireland the following weekend – and stated on their website that Rhule and Petersen will only play in the first tour match.

“Raymond Rhule and Sergeal Petersen will be representing the Cheetahs in their last match in an orange jersey against Zebre, where after they will be returning to Cape Town to join the Stormers for a new chapter in their careers,” the Cheetahs said.

Discarded Springbok Rhule and Petersen face a serious challenge for starting berths at the Stormers in Super Rugby next year, though.

While there are rumours that Leolin Zas will be joining the Sharks, this has not yet been confirmed by either franchise.

But even if Zas – who missed the entire 2017 season after sustaining a broken leg in a warm-up game against the Lions in February – does go to Durban, Stormers coach Robbie Fleck has a number of options to choose from.

Dillyn Leyds and Seabelo Senatla are sure to be the first-choice flyers, with SP Marais likely to return from injury at fullback.

Sergeal Petersen will join his third Super Rugby franchise in the Stormers after featuring for the Southern Kings and Cheetahs previously. Photo: Frikkie Kapp/BackpagePix

Then there is the impressive sevens stars Werner Kok – who has spoken about making a name for himself in 15-man rugby – and Ruhan Nel, who has been excellent for WP in the Currie Cup.

But it is unclear if Nel will go back to the Blitzboks, while EW Viljoen can fill in at wing too.

Then there are also youngsters coming through in Khanyo Ngcukana, Grant Hermanus and Edwill van der Merwe.

Cheetahs Squad

Charles Marais, Ox Nche, Torsten van Jaarsveld, Jacques du Toit, Joseph Dweba, Aranos Coetzee, Tom Botha, Luan de Bruin, Justin Basson, Reniel Hugo, Rynier Bernardo, Paul Schoeman, Henco Venter, Junior Pokomela, Oupa Mohoje, Tian Meyer, Shaun Venter, Ernst Stapelberg, Fred Zeilinga, Makazole Mapimpi, William Small-Smith, Francois Venter (captain), Nico Lee, Raymond Rhule, Sergeal Petersen, Luther Obi, Ali Mgijima.


IOL Sport