An away win in Durban will secure the Lions a place at the top of their conference. Photo: Derek Morrison /

JOHANNESBURG – Swys de Bruin has picked arguably his strongest team for the Lions’ trip to Durban for the Super Rugby match against the Sharks on Saturday.

In all there are 12 Springbok players in the starting team, with Warren Whiteley and Malcolm Marx returning to the side for the first time in weeks, following the June Test break. It will be Marx’s 50th Super Rugby match.

Also in the run-on side are Aphiwe Dyantyi, Kwagga Smith and Marvin Orie, who became Bok players for the first time in June.

Lionel Mapoe, Ross Cronje and Cyle Brink are also included in the starting team after sitting out in May due to injury.

De Bruin’s team has star power in all departments and should provide a stern test for the Sharks who themselves have a bunch of Bok players in their side.

On the bench there is also fire-power in the form of Lourens Erasmus, Hacjivah Dayimani and Courtnall Skosan.

Malcolm Marz (with ball) will play in his 50th Super Rugby match on Saturday. Photo: Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

The Lions will be desperate to bag an away win to secure their place at the top of their conference, while the Sharks are also still in the running to make the playoffs.

Saturday’s match kicks off at 5pm.

The Lions team is: 

Andries Coetzee, Ruan Combrinck, Lionel Mapoe, Harold Vorster, Aphiwe Dyantyi, Elton Jantjies, Ross Cronje, Warren Whiteley (capt), Cyle Brink, Kwagga Smith, Franco Mostert, Marvin Orie, Ruan Dreyer, Malcolm Marx, Dylan Smith. 
Replacements: Corne Fourie, Jacques van Rooyen, Johannes Jonker, Lourens Erasmus, Hacjivah Dayimani, Marnus Schoeman, Nic Groom, Courtnall Skosan.

IOL Sport

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter