The Lions squad leave for South America on Wednesday morning. Photo: Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

JOHANNESBURG – Lions boss Swys de Bruin has picked a formidable squad for this weekend’s Super Rugby match against the Jaguares in Buenos Aires.

The 25-man tour group includes seven Springboks as the Lions look to register their first win in South America since the Jaguares joined the competition.

In 2016 and 2017 a weakened Lions side lost in Buenos Aires.

The Boks in the tour party are Andries Coetzee, Rohan Janse van Rensburg, Lionel Mapoe, Elton Jantjies, Franco Mostert, Ruan Dreyer and Malcolm Marx. 

Players not considered for the trip because of injury are Warren Whiteley, Jaco Kriel, Ruan Combrinck, Courtnall Skosan, Andries Ferreira, Ross Cronje and Jacobie Adriaanse.

When the Lions and Jaguares met in round two at Ellis Park a few weeks ago it was the home team who won 47-27, but they can expect a far tougher assignment this weekend. More so now that the Jaguares lost to the Reds at home last weekend; the 18-7 result a surprise to most observers.

The match on Saturday kicks off at 11.40pm (SA time). 

The squad leave for South America on Wednesday morning. De Bruin is expected to name his matchday-23 on Thursday once the team have arrived in Buenos Aires.

The Lions touring squad is:

Andries Coetzee, Aphiwe Dyantyi, Rohan Janse van Rensburg, Sylvian Mahuza, Lionel Mapoe, Howard Mnisi, Harold Vorster, Elton Jantjies, Shaun Reynolds, Marco Janse van Vuren, Dillon Smit, Len Massyn, Cyle Brink, Franco Mostert, Robert Kruger, Kwagga Smith, Lourens Erasmus, Marvin Orie, Ruan Dreyer, Jacques van Rooyen, Johannes Jonker, Dylan Smith, Robbie Coetzee, Corne Fourie, Malcolm Marx

The Star

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter