Marco Jansen van Vuren impressed Lions coach Swys de Bruin in training this week. Photo: Ryan Wilkisky/BackpagePix

JOHANNESBURG – Lions boss Swys de Bruin has stuck largely with the same group of players who did the business against the Sharks last week for Saturday’s round two Super Rugby match against the Jaguares at Ellis Park, with kickoff at 3pm.

The starting XV is unchanged from last week’s named side, which beat the Sharks 26-19.

Lock Andries Ferreira, though, didn’t start against the Sharks after picking up a stomach problem on the eve of the match, his place going to Marvin Orie.

But this week, Ferreira is set to run out in the No 4 jersey.

“He’s fit and 100 percent ready to play,” assured De Bruin when he named his side on Thursday.

The only changes come on the bench, where Orie falls out of the 23-man squad completely, making way for Lourens Erasmus, who came on to the bench as a late replacement last week.

Flank Marnus Schoeman also misses out this time.

In his place comes scrumhalf Marco Jansen van Vuren, who’ll be on debut in Super Rugby.

Subscribe to the IOL Sport Newsletter!

“I think we might need back-up this week, with Ross (Cronjé) having played a lot of rugby,” explained De Bruin rather cryptically.

Against the Sharks last week, De Bruin didn’t feel it necessary to have a back-up scrumhalf in his squad, suggesting fullback Andries Coetzee would fulfil the duties if called on to do so.

“Marco trained so well this week that I feel it’s time I give him a chance. I have to blood the youngsters at some stage, and will continue to do so with the young players throughout the season,” said De Bruin.

Lions Team

15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronjé, 8 Warren Whiteley (captain), 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Kwagga Smith, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Jacques van Rooyen.

Bench: 16 Robbie Coetzee, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Jacobie Adriaanse, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Hacjivah Dayimani, 21 Marco Jansen van Vuren, 22 Howard Mnisi, 23 Rohan Janse van Rensburg.


IOL Sport