Michael Hooper will lead the Wallabies in the second Test against Ireland on Saturday. Photo: DaveHunt/EPA

MELBOURNE – Coach Michael Cheika on Thursday named an unchanged Wallabies line-up for the first time in his four-year tenure for the second Test against Ireland in Melbourne.

It is the only time Cheika has retained the same match-day squad for back-to-back Tests in his 46 games in charge, after taking the reins in November 2014.

The Wallabies won the opening match of the three-Test series 18-9 over the Six Nations champions in Brisbane last weekend.

Cheika made no changes despite the availability after injury of flanker Ned Hanigan (knee) and lock Rory Arnold (suspension).

There was talk he would rush back Hanigan into the team to strengthen the line out, which was one area that wobbled in the first Test against Ireland, the world's number two ranked team.

Caleb Timu maintained his position in the back row and even with Cheika keeping a six-two forwards-backs split on the bench, Arnold could not oust Rob Simmons or Lukhan Tui for a spot among the reserves.

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Ireland last played Australia in Melbourne in 2008, when the Wallabies won 18-12.

The Australia team is: (15-1)

Israel Folau; Dane Haylett-Petty, Samu Kerevi, Kurtley Beale, Marika Koroibete; Bernard Foley, Will Genia; Caleb Timu, Michael Hooper (capt), David Pocock; Adam Coleman, Izack Rodda; Sekope Kepu, Brandon Paenga-Amosa, Scott Sio.

Reserves: Tolu Latu, Tom Robertson, Taniela Tupou, Rob Simmons, Lukhan Tui, Pete Samu, Nick Phipps, Reece Hodge.

Agence France-Presse (AFP)