JOHANNESBURG, SOUTH AFRICA - DECEMBER 04, Austin Smith during the FIH Champions Challenge 1 3rd / 4th playoff match between South Africa and Argentina from Randburg Hockey Stadium on December 04, 2011 in Johannesburg, South Africa Photo by Duif du Toit / Gallo Images

The names of the 22 players selected to attend a South African men’s hockey squad training camp at University of the Free State Hockey Centre in Bloemfontein, starting on Monday, has been released by the SA Hockey Association.

Head coach Gregg Clark’s group of 22 is led by Austin Smith and includes six players from Southern Gauteng, five from Western Province, five from KZN Coastal Raiders, four from Northern Blues and one each from Eastern Province and Amatole-Border.

The SA men won the Olympic Qualifier Tournament in Japan three weeks ago to qualify for the London 2012 Olympic Games.


Goalkeepers: Rassie Pieterse (Southern Gauteng), Jacques le Roux (Western Province), Brendon Botes (Eastern Province).

Defenders: Rhett Halkett (Northern Blues), Lloyd Madsen (KZN Coastal Raiders), Andrew Cronje (WP), Justin Reid-Ross (NB), Lance Louw (SG), Ricky West (SG), Clinton Panther (SG).

Midfielders: Austin Smith (capt, WP), Wade Paton (KCR), Tim Drummond (KCR), Taine Paton (KCR), Jonty Robinson (NB), Nic Gonsalves (NB).

Strikers: Ian Haley (WP), Marvin Harper (KCR), Lloyd Norris-Jones (WP), Julian Hykes (Amatole-Border), Thornton McDade (SG), Miguel da Graca (SG). – Supplied