Helman Mkhalele (assistant) and Thabo Senong, head coach of Amajita during a training session at University of Johannesburg in May 2018. Photo: Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

JOHANNESBURG – Defending champions South Africa, hosts Zambia, as well as last year’s runners up, Lesotho, on Tuesday were named as the three seeded sides for the draw of the Under-20 Cosafa Championship in Kitwe in Zambia.

The tournament runs from December 2 to 14, while the draw takes place on Wednesday in Kitwe.

The three seeded sides will head the pools, with Zambia in Group A, South Africa in Group B and Lesotho penned in for Group C.

The remaining nine sides will be placed in two pots based on their ranking according to performance at the 2017 Under-20 Cosafa Championships that were also held in Kitwe.

Each group will have four nations, while only the top team in each pool and the best-placed runner-up will advances to the semifinals.

Thabo Senong coach of Amajita. Photo: Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix
Thabo Senong coach of Amajita sets out a training session. Photo: Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

The 2018 Under-20 Cosafa Championships draw

The seeded teams are:

Group A –Zambia (Host country)

Group B –South Africa (Winners in 2017)

Group C –Lesotho (Runners-up in 2017)

Pot 1

Malawi, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Swaziland

Pot 2

Mozambique, Mauritius, Angola, Reunion, Botswana 

African News Agency (ANA)

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter