Bafana coach Stuart Baxter. Picture credit:

JOHANNESBURG – Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter has announced a 22-man squad to face Libya in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

South Africa and The Mediterranean Knights will meet for the first time ever in their history in a clash scheduled for Saturday, September 8 at Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.

This is the second match of the Afcon qualifiers following their 2-0 victory over Nigeria in Uyo in June last year.

Libya is top of the table in Group E after their 5-1 win against the Seychelles in Tripoli. Bafana are second on goal difference, while Nigeria is third and Seychelles is bottom of the group.

After the Libya game, there are four matches remaining in the qualifiers.

Subscribe to the IOL Sport Newsletter!

South Africa will next face Seychelles in back-to-back fixtures in October, and will then host Nigeria in November. The last clash of the qualifiers will be away to Libya in March next year.

The Africa Cup of Nations tournament will be played from June 7 to 30, the first time ever since it was moved from the usual January/February period by the Confederation of African Football (Caf).

Cameroon, who will be hosting for the first time since 1972, are also the defending champions. The competition will be the 32nd Edition of the Africa Cup of Nations.

Bafana will assemble for camp on Sunday,in Johannesburg and will travel to Durban the next day to start preparations for the qualifier against Libya. 

SA squad:

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune, Ronwen Williams, Darren Keet.

Defenders: Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Motjeka Madisha, Siyanda Xulu, Innocent Maela, Thulani Hlatshwayo, S'Fiso Hlanti, Buhle Mkhwanazi.

Midfielders: Dean Furman, Teboho Mokoena, Siphesihle Ndlovu, Hlompho Kekana, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Bongani Zungu, Kamohelo Mokotjo.

Strikers: Themba Zwane, Keagan Dolly, Percy Tau, Lebo Mothiba, Bradley Grobler. 

African News Agency (ANA)

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter