Bruce Bvuma is back in the Bafana squad. Photo: Samuel Shivambu, BackpagePix

Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has announced a 25-man squad to face Zambia in the 2018 African Nations Championship (Chan) qualifiers.

The first leg clash of the third and final round will take place on Saturday, August 12 at a venue still to be announced. Kickoff is at 3pm.

Baxter has kept the bulk of the squad, making only five changes.

Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Bruce Bvuma, who was in the Cosafa Cup squad, returns after he missed out on the two-legged Chan qualifiers against Botswana. He takes the place of Khulekani Kubheka.

In defence, Malebogo Modise and Junaid Sait make way for Denwin Farmer (SuperSport United) and Ayabulela Konqobe of AmaZulu.

Supersport United midfielder Teboho Mokoena is back in the squad after he was withdrawn before the second leg of the Botswana clash at Moruleng Stadium.

Under-20 international Masilakhe Phohlongo of Ajax Cape Town and Tshegofatso Mabaso of Bloemfontein Celtic are the new faces in the middle of the park.

The strike force trio of Gift Motupa, Ryan Moon and Bonginkosi Ntuli have been recalled.

Bafana Bafana go into camp on Sunday, 6 August. The return leg will be played in Zambia on the weekend of August 18-19-20, with the overall winner qualifying for the Chan tournament, which is set to take place in Kenya from January 11 to February 2 next year.

A total of 16 teams will qualify to play in the final tournament, and national team players who are playing in their country’s own domestic league will be eligible to compete in the football showpiece.

Bafana Squad

Goalkeepers: Boalefa Pule (AmaZulu), Steven Hoffman (Platinum Stars), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs).

Defenders: Siyabonga Nhlapo (Wits), Siphiwe Mnguni (Platinum Stars), Sandile Mthethwa (Orlando Pirates), Mothobi Mvala (Highlands Park), Mario Booysen (SuperSport United), Tercious Malepe (Orlando Pirates), Denwin Farmer (SuperSport United), Ayabulela Konqobe (AmaZulu).

Midfielders: Cole Alexander (SuperSport United), Michael Morton (AmaZulu), Riyaad Norodien (Orlando Pirates), Jamie Webber (Stellenbosch FC), Sphelele Ntshangase (Black Leopards), Dumisani Zuma (Bloemfontein Celtic), Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United), Sipho Mbule (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sibusiso Kumalo (Mamelodi Sundowns), Masilakhe Phohlongo (Ajax Cape Town), Tshegofatso Mabaso (Bloemfontein Celtic).

Strikers: Bongani Ntuli (Mamelodi Sundowns), Ryan Moon (Kaizer Chiefs), Gift Motupa (Baroka FC).

SAFA Media