DURBAN, SOUTH AFRICA - MAY 19, during the Absa Premiership match between Maritzburg United and Moroka Swallows at Harry Gwala Stadium on May 19, 2012 in Durban, South Africa Photo by Steve Haag / Gallo Images

The South African Football Association’s Technical Committee, under the leadership of chairperson, Mr Fanyana Sibanyoni, convened to take forward the process for the appointment of a new Bafana Bafana coach.

The Committee developed a set of criteria for the appointment of the coach, key of which was that Safa would only consider a local coach for the position. This eliminated a large number of the potential applicants.

The committee developed 12 criteria that they believe are critical for the coach, and then identified five coaches that they decided were best suited for the job.

The five coaches were contacted on Thursday, to request an interview.

The five coaches that were identified, in no particular order, are:

* Steve Komphela

* Gordon Igesund

* Gavin Hunt

* Ephraim ‘Shakes’ Mashaba

* Neil Tovey

All of the coaches have agreed to be interviewed, and will be provided with the agreed set of criteria and given a maximum of two hours for presentation and the interview. This process will start next Wednesday and conclude the following Monday.

The final recommended candidate will be presented to the NEC on June 30 or earlier.

The selection panel will consist, as a core, of members of the Technical Committee together with the Safa Technical Director and CEO, and the Chairperson of the International Board/Commercial Committee.

“We are also going to approach Jomo Sono and Kaizer Motaung to serve on the panel. Additional members might also be appointed in broader consultation,” said Safa CEO, Dr Robin Petersen. – Safa