Stellenbosch FC star Jamie Webber (white jersey) has received his first Bafana call-up. Photo: Chris Ricco, BackpagePix

Bafana Bafana will have to do without the services of SuperSport United’s Mandla Masango and Lebogang Phiri of Guingamp in France in the 2017 Cosafa Cup as they were not released by their clubs.

Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has called up Jamie Webber of Stellenbosch FC in the National First Division to replace Masango, while Mohau Mokate of Maritzburg United has taken Phiri’s place.

Phiri’s absence leaves the squad with three overseas-based players – Thabo Cele, Liam Jordan (both Portugal) and Lehlogonolo Masalesa (Greece).

South Africa will join the competition in the quarter-finals, when they face the winner of Group A on Sunday, July 2 at Royal Bafokeng Stadium.

Kickoff is at 5pm.

Tanzania, Malawi, Mauritius and Angola are all in Group A.

Baxter will join the squad in camp on Monday after he led SuperSport United to a 4-1 victory over Orlando Pirates in the Nedbank Cup final in Durban on Saturday.

Bafana will face Platinum Stars in a practice match on Monday afternoon as part of preparations for the upcoming Cosafa Cup.

Bafana Cosafa Cup Squad

Goalkeepers: Darren Johnson, Bruce Bvuma, Boalefa Pule.

Defenders: Thendo Mukumela, Sandile Mthethwa, Mothobi Mvala, Mario Booysen, Tercious Malepe, Innocent Maela, Lorenzo Gordinho.

Midfielders: Thabo Cele, Lebogang Maboe, Sibongakonke Mbatha, Nduduzo Sibiya, Jamie Webber, Lehlohonolo Masalesa, Mohau Mokate, Aubrey Ngoma.

Strikers: Liam Jordan, Judas Moseamedi.

Safa Media

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter