Maritzburg's Siphesihle Ndlovu in action against Harris Tchilimbou of Free State Stars at Cape Town Stadium. Photo: Chris Ricco/BackpagePix

CAPE TOWN – Siphesihle Ndlovu has been rewarded for a stellar season at Maritzburg United with selection to the Bafana Bafana squad for the Cosafa Cup.

The tournament takes place in Polokwane from May 27-June 9, with Bafana only in action on June 3 in the quarter-finals against the winner of Group A – which comprises of Comoros, Madagascar, Mozambique and Seychelles.

Coach Stuart Baxter has gone for a mix of youth and experience in the 20-man squad.

Exciting young talents such as Ndlovu, Siyabonga Ngezana and Wiseman Meyiwa of Kaizer Chiefs and Luther Singh of Braga in Portugal have been matched with the likes of hardened campaigners like Reyaad Pieterse and Siyanda Xulu.

Subscribe to the IOL Sport Newsletter!

Apart from Ndlovu, his fellow Maritzburg United starlets Lebogang Maboe and Fortune Makaringe have also made the cut, while Cape Town City defender Taariq Fielies’ gritty performances this season has been recognised as well.

There is some serious strike-power upfront, with in-form Baroka FC standout Gift Motupa lining up alongside Singh, Chiefs’ Ryan Moon and Lyle Foster of Orlando Pirates.

Coach Stuart Baxter has named his Bafana side for the Cosafa Cup. Photo: Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

The Bafana Bafana squad is:

Goalkeepers: Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs), Reyaad Pieterse (SuperSport United), Khulekani Kubheka (Mamelodi Sundowns).

Defenders: Siyabonga Ngezana (Chiefs), Motjeka Madisha (Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg United), Taariq Fielies (Cape Town City), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates).

Midfielders: Wiseman Meyiwa (Chiefs), Siphesihle Ndlovu, Fortune Makaringe, Lebogang Maboe (all Maritzburg), Aubrey Modiba, Craig Webber (both SuperSport), Abednego Mosiatlhaga (Wits), Neo Links (Sport Face, Egypt).

Strikers: Gift Motupa (Baroka FC), Lyle Foster (Pirates), Ryan Moon (Chiefs), Luther Singh (SC Braga, Portugal).

IOL Sport

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter