Banyana Banyana has been nominated for a CAF award. Photo: CAF

CARIO – South Africa's women's football team is in the running for the Confederation of African Football (CAF) Women’s National Team of the Year award.

Caf revealed final shortlist of nominees for the 2017 CAF Awards on Monday.

SA's team, nicknamed Banyana Banyana, were named alongside the national Under-20 sides from Ghana and Nigeria as the three sides in contention to win the award.

The awards gala will take place on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in Accra, Ghana.

The full list of nominees are (nominees listed in alphabetical order):

African Player of the Year
Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Dortmund)
Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool) 

Women’s Player of the Year
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)
Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)
Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & CSKA Moscow)

Youth Player of the Year
Krepin Diatta (Senegal & Sarpsborg)
Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)
Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)

Coach of the Year
Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)
Hector Cuper (Egypt)
L'Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)

Club of the Year
Al Ahly
TP Mazembe
Wydad Athletic Club
National Team of the Year
Women’s National Team of the Year
Ghana Under-20
Nigeria Under-20
South Africa 

African News Agency (ANA)

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter