Chelsea's N'Golo Kante and Manchester United's Paul Pogba won the World Cup with France in the off season. Photo: EPA/WILL OLIVER

LONDON - Harry Kane, Eden Hazard, Paul Pogba, Sergio Aguero and Kevin De Bruyne are among 11 Premier League players who have made the 30-man shortlist for the Ballon d’Or.

England captain Kane is up against five-time winners Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, who has won the award for the last two years. Among the other players from the Premier League are Liverpool quartet Mohamed Salah, Alisson Becker, Roberto Firmino and Sadio Mane. Chelsea’s N’Golo Kante is on the list as is Spurs keeper Hugo Lloris.

Real Madrid forward Gareth Bale has also been shortlisted. Before Wales’s clash with Spain on Thursday, Bale will be presented with a Golden Boot award by Ian Rush after becoming his country’s record scorer. England and Liverpool full back Trent Alexander-Arnold has been named on a 10-man shortlist for the new Kopa Trophy for players under the age of 21.

Nominees: Sergio Aguero (Man City), Alisson Becker (Liverpool), Gareth Bale (R Madrid), Karim Benzema (R Madrid), Kevin de Bruyne (Man City), Edinson Cavani (PSG), Thibaut Courtois (R Madrid), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool), Diego Godin (Atl Madrid), Antoine Griezmann (Atl Madrid), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Isco (R Madrid), Harry Kane (Tottenham), N’Golo Kante (Chelsea), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham), Mario Mandzukic (Juventus), Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Marcelo (R Madrid), Kylian Mbappe (PSG), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Luka Modric (R Madrid), Neymar (PSG), Jan Oblak (Atl Madrid), Paul Pogba (Man Utd), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (R Madrid), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Luis Suarez (Barcelona), Raphael Varane (R Madrid).

Daily Mail

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter