Wits celebrate with the MTN8 trophy after beating Mamelodi Sundowns in the 2016 final. Photo: Sydney Mahlangu, BackpagePix

JOHANNESBURG - Defending champions Bidvest Wits will kick-start this year’s MTN8 competition when they host Golden Arrows next Friday.

The PSL on Monday released the dates and venues of the eight team, season-opening tournament and it is last year’s winners who will get the ball rolling.

The Clever Boys had a fantastic start to the previous campaign by thumping fancied Mamelodi Sundowns 3-0 in the final played at Mbombela Stadium. 

That success set them in good stead in a season that also saw them win the league championship for the first time in their history. 

They now have to defend their MTN8 title and standing in their way at the first hurdle is an Arrows side that qualified for the competition on the last day of the season. 

Two matches will be played on Saturday, August 12, with Cape Town City hosting MTN8 debutants Polokwane City at Cape Town Stadium at 3pm. Later in the evening, Kaizer Chiefs will host SuperSport United at their alternative home venue, the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.

Sundowns will host Maritzburg United the next day at Lucas Moripe Stadium in Atteridgeville. The PSL has announced that tickets will be sold at TicketPro outlets at R40 and R60, respectively, with children under 12 years of age paying R15.

MTN8 Fixtures:

August 11: Bidvest Wits v Golden Arrows @ Bivest Stadium, 8pm

August 12: Cape Town City v Polokwane City @ Cape Town Stadium, 3pm; Kaizer Chiefs v SuperSport United @ Moses Mabhida Stadium, 8pm

August 13: Mamelodi Sundowns v Maritzburg United @ Lucas Moripe Stadium, 3pm

The Star

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter