BOTSHABELO, SOUTH AFRICA - APRIL 06: Wandisile Letlabika of Celtics during the Absa Premiership match between Bloemfontein Celtic and Platinum Stars at Kaizer Sebothelo Stadium on April 06, 2014 in Botshabelo, South Africa. (Photo by Charle Lombard/Gallo Images)

A single goal from Joel Mogorosi handed Bloemfontein Celtic a 1-0 win over Platinum Stars in an Absa Premiership match at the Kaizer Sebothela Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

It was extremely dull opening 45 minutes as both sides struggled to hold onto the ball and often gifted possession back to their opponents with some poor passing in the middle of the park.

Consequently, chances on goal were few and far between as neither side really produced any attacking impetus.

The first shot on goal only came in the 19th minute as Celtic’s Frank Mhango fired a long range shot inches over the crossbar.

Ten minutes later Platinum Stars had their first attempt on goal when Issa Sarr met a corner-kick, but he head wide from six-yards out.

The closest we came to a finding the back of the net in the first half was almost an own goal in the 43rd minute as Patrick Tignyemb had to produce a great reflex save to prevent Alfred Ndengane from turning the ball into his own net.

The half ended 0-0.

The start of the second 45 saw the home side begin to take the ascendancy and they finally broke the deadlock on the hour mark when Joel Mogorosi turned home a Lerato Lamola left-wing cross from ten-yards out, 1-0.

In the 71st minute Tumelo Mogapi missed a guilt-edged chance to double his side’s lead when he found himself with just the keeper to beat, but he fired straight at the Stars shot-stopper from close range.

Stars threw men forward in attack after that, but Celtic held on for the win in a result that sees them jump above their opponent son the day into eighth place on the league table.

Bloemfontein Celtic (0) 1 (Mogorosi 60’)

Platinum Stars (0) 0


Celtic: Tignyemb, Ndengane, Bilankulu, Nkausu, Daniels, Mhango (Buchanan 46’), Letlabika, Mogapi, Nyatama (Mzava 91’), Mogorosi, Lakay (Lamola 46’).

Platinum Stars: Mpontshane, Semenya, Gumede (T. Mthembu 87’), Sithole, Mpeta, Sarr, Mathe, Ng'ambi, Malokase (Makudubela 64’), Tshabalala (Chinyama 71’), S. Mthembu. – Backpage Media