Morgan Gould with his Player of the Season award on Monday night. Photo: Aubrey Kgakatsi, BackpagePix

JOHANNESBURG – Morgan Gould was the big winner at SuperSport United’s awards ceremony at Melrose Arch on Monday night. 

The Matsatsantsa a Pitori centre-back was an integral figure in the club’s run to finish in the top four, reach the semi-finals of the Caf Confederation Cup and win the Nedbank Cup.

For his contribution, Gould was named Player of the Season. 

Thabo Mnyamane took home two awards, the Players’ Player of the Season gong and the Chairman’s Award.

Mnanyame made an immediate impact at SuperSport after joining them from University of Pretoria at the start of the 2016/17 season.

He hardly looked like a player in his first season at the club, easily fitting into the team to play a starring role upfront. 

Teboho Mokoena took home the Young Player of the Season award.

The 20-year-old central midfielder was a revelation in the colours of the Tshwane side, and formed a solid combination with Reneilwe Letsholonyane at the heart of midfield.

Club captain Dean Furman received the Coaches Award, while assistant coach Kaitano Tembo received the CEO (Thomas Madigage) gong.

Tembo took SuperSport to the knockout stage of the Confederation Cup for the first time in the club’s history.

He took over the job of leading Matsatsantsa on the continent after Stuart Baxter was hired as the Bafana Bafana coach.

Eric Tinkler will continue on the foundation Tembo and Baxter lay as he looks to help the side win the league for the first time since the 2010/11 season.

Full List of Winners

Branch Supporter of the Year: Mamelodi Branch

Coaches Award: Dean Furman

Chairman’s Award: Thabo Mnyamane 

Young Player of the Season: Teboho Mokoena

Golden Boot Award: Jeremy Brockie

Players’ Player of the Season: Thabo Mnyamane 

Player of the Season: Morgan Gould