Ria Ledwaba is one of three women on the current Safa national executive committee, with the others being Nomsa Mahlangu and Nastasia Tsichlas. Photo: @DIRCO_ZA via Twitter

JOHANNESBURG – The South African Football Association (Safa) approved the introduction of a Super Cup to be contested by the winners of the Absa Premiership, Nedbank Cup, National First Division and the ABC Motsepe League.

This was agreed upon at the organisation’s extraordinary constitutional congress on Saturday.

The congress made a number of amendments, including having four Safa vice-presidents, the appointment of a chief operating officer (COO) and consolidating the standing committee from over 20 to 14.

“The constitutional congress was officially opened by Deputy Minister of Sport and Recreation Gert Oosthuizen. Also in attendance was Cosafa president, Phillip Chiyangwa, amongst other dignitaries,” a statement from Safa read.

“Among a raft of changes approved by the congress were the elections of four Safa vice-presidents, of which one seat must be reserved for a woman, with the other for the chair of the Premier Soccer League (PSL).

“The remaining other two would be appointed by the National Executive Committee in line with Caf Statutes.

“The congress also agreed on the appointment of the association’s COO and group chief financial officer, as well as the introduction of the Super Cup that will be contested by PSL champions, Nedbank Cup winners, National First Division and ABC Motsepe champions.

“Another change adopted was the consolidation of standing committee from over 20 to 14. This is also in line with the Fifa and CAF Statutes of consolidating various committees into efficient few.”


IOL Sport