DOBSONVILLE, SOUTH AFRICA - FEBRUARY 08: Siyabonga Nomvethe of Moroka Swallows during the Absa Premiership match between Moroka Swallows and AmaZulu at Dobsonville Stadium on February 08, 2014 in Dobsonville, South Africa. (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images)

AmaZulu extended their unbeaten run in 2014 when their Absa Premiership encounter against Moroka Swallows ended in a 0-0 draw at the Dobsonville Stadium on Saturday.

The heat and constant breaks in play due to consistent fouling affected the flow of the game but both sides did have decent opportunities to find the back of the net.

The hosts had the better of the early exchanges with Lerato Chabangu firing straight at Philani Zikalala in the 5th minute, while Siyabonga Nomvethe did the same three minutes later.

Shots continued to rain from long range as Khulegani Madondo forced a save out Greg Etafia in the 16th minute, before Chabangu tested Zikalala at the other end two minutes later.

Usuthu then had two good opportunities before the break but Goodman Dlamini failed to hit the target after he was set up by Bongani Ndulula in the 42nd minute.

The next chance fell for Ayanda Dlamini in added time when he received a pass from Goodman on the right, only to drag his low shot just wide of the far upright.

Ayanda and Goodman continued to combine in the second half but the latter fired wide of goal in the 54th minute after showing his composure to turn his marker inside the penalty area.

Chabangu then fired another tame effort at Zikalala in the 60th minute after controlling a pass from Dikgang Mabalane, while Tamsanqa Teyise’s long range effort was saved comfortably by Etafia in the 75th minute.

Usuthu almost netted yet a late winner in the 87th minute but Ayanda fired against the sidenetting after controlling a lobbed pass on the right side of the box.

The hosts also had a late chance of their own but Nomvethe volleyed wide from the left side of the box after he was picked out by Giorgi Nergadze.

Moroka Swallows 0

AmaZulu 0


Moroka Swallows: Etafia, Mapemba, Mungomeni, Isaacs, Mokgothu, Mbekile, Nergadze, Chabangu, Tsutsulupa (Ogle 77’), Nomvethe, Manqele (Mabalane 58’)

AmaZulu: Zikalala, Macala, Hlanti, Nyadombo, Teyise, Madondo, Arwuah, Dlamini G, Manqana (Liphoko 72’), Dlamini A, Ndulula – BackpageTxt