SuperSport United captain Dean Furman lifts the MTN8 trophy after their 4-2 penalty shoot-out victory over Cape Town City on Saturday night. Photo: Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

DURBAN – SuperSport United players will pocket R4 million for lifting the MTN8 trophy.

Matsatsantsa A Pitori captured their first trophy of the season when they defeated Cape Town City 4-2 on penalties in the MTN8 final at Moses Mabhida Stadium on Saturday night.

The game ended 1-1 after 120 minutes. Sibusiso Masina gave Benni McCarthy’s City team the lead in the first half, and Thabo Mnyamane equalised in the second half for Eric Tinkler’s SuperSport.

“The players will pocket R4 million for winning the trophy,” SuperSport United chief executive Stan Matthews said after the match.

“We’ve always given our players half of the actual prize money. The rest of the money will go to our staff,” Matthews elaborated.

Cape Town City, along with the six other participating teams, each received prize money of R800 000 following the dramatic penalty shoot-out, which saw Lyle Lakay and Judas Moseamedi’s spot-kicks saved by SuperSport goalkeeper Ronwen Williams.


IOL Sport