Final list for SABC board members

By Janine Moodley Time of article published Mar 14, 2019

Share this article:

Durban - The list of candidates who will be recommended to fill the eight vacancies on the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) board has been finalised by the portfolio committee of communications on Thursday. 

The list will be forwarded to the National Assembly. 

The eight successful candidates include Mary Papayya former journalist and executive member of the SA National Editors' Forum;  Jasmina Patel chief audit officer at the University of Limpopo; Professor Saths Cooper anti-apartheid activist; gender activist Bernedette Muthien, Advocate Motshedi Benjamin Lekalakala, Dr Marcia Socikwa, Mamaduphi Mohlala-Mulaudzi and David Maimela. 

The ANC, EFF and DA were at loggerheads over Saths Cooper making the list but DA comittee member, Phumzile Van Damme and EFF committee member Mbuyiseni Ndlozi agreed to carry the debate to National Assembly. 

Last week Parliament's communications committee wrapped up interviews with 24 shortlisted candidates to fill eight vacancies on the board. The interviews took place over 3 days. 


Share this article: