The awards will be held at Katy’s Palace in Johannesburg next month.

The Association of South African Travel Agents (ASATA) has announce the finalists in the 2017 ASATA Awards. The winners will be announced at an awards evening at Katy’s Palace in Johannesburg on  March 8, 2018.

Otto de Vries, ASATA CEO, says the ASATA Awards are part of the association’s efforts to professionalise the travel industry.

“The recognition of ASATA by SAQA as a professional body and re-launch of the ASATA Professional Programme (APP) are further initiatives run by ASATA to deliver on our promise to consumers that by entrusting their travel in the hands of an ASATA member, they can travel with peace of mind.”

De Vries says the ASATA Awards are reflective of the excellence of South Africa’s travel sector. “The awards recognise those travel professionals who continue to offer excellent service with passion and due care, and who improve the perception of this exciting industry,” he said.

The finalists are, in alphabetical order:

Corporate consultant   

Monique Rooskrans - TAG/Claudia's Travel   

Fiona Keeley - IGO Travel   

Clare Robertson -  American Express Global Business  

Independent Travel Consultant

Angela Blythe - e Travel (A2B Travel)    Angela Blythe is  from A2B Travel (eTravel).

Raakhee Keshav - Tourvest   

Fiona Watermeyer - Aeroplan Travel (e-travel)

Leisure consultant   

Oriana Neto - Caldeira - Flight Specials Centurion (XL)   

Shirani Gaymans - Hashtag Holidays (TAG)   

Brendan Pottier - IGO Travel

Tomorrow's leader   

Ntiyiso Maluleke - Tourvest   

Thaybz Kahn - Cruises International   

Lorian Abrams - Tourvest

Exceptional commitment  

Marianne Strydom - XL Boland Travel   

Charleen Shearer - Tourvest   

Mary Shilletto - Thompsons Travel

Wholesale consultant   

Samantha Barkhuysen - Beachcomber   

Janine Bouwer - Beachcomber   

Katherine Coetzee - Beachcomber

Wholesale representative    

Diana Olivier - Development Promotions   

Ettienne Walters - Beachcomber   

Ashton Bagwell - TTC Africa

Key account manager   

Irene van Aswegen - TAG Travel   

Cindy Fourie - TTS   

Phumla Mjoni - XL Bay Travel

For more information about the ASATA Awards, please visit