Independent Online

Monday, June 27, 2022

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterView weather by locationView market indicators

Matthew Mole and Locnville bag SAMAs

Matthew Mole won a SAMA for record of the year at the 27th annual SAMAs. Picture: David Ritchie/African News Agency(ANA)

Matthew Mole won a SAMA for record of the year at the 27th annual SAMAs. Picture: David Ritchie/African News Agency(ANA)

Published Jul 31, 2021


Cape Town’s Matthew Mole walked away with Record of the Year for his track Keep it Together at the 27th annual South African Music Awards (SAMAs) hosted on Saturday evening at a virtual evernt.

Twins Locnville bagged best pop album for Tribes & Angels. Afrikaans electronic band Die Heuwels Fantasties, won the award for Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album for Herverbeel.

Story continues below Advertisement

While in the past celebrities would be dressed to the nines at the Sun City Superbowl, this year they celebrated from the comfort of their homes.

Other winners are:

Story continues below Advertisement

Artist of the Year

Blaq Diamond

Music Video of the Year

Story continues below Advertisement

Price to Pay - Miss Pru featuring Blaq Diamond and Malome Vector

Album of the Year

Once Upon A Time In Lockdown – Kabza De Small and DJ Maphorisa (Scorpion Kings)

Story continues below Advertisement

Duo or Group of the Year

Kabza De Small and DJ Maphorisa (Scorpion Kings) – Once Upon A Time In Lockdown

Sofnfree Female Artist of the Year

Sho Madjozi – What A Life

Male Artist of the Year

Kabza De Small – I Am The King of Amapiano: Sweet & Dust

White Star Newcomer of the Year

Bucy Radebe – Spiritual Encounter

Best Rock Album

Orange Sunshine – Yum Yuck

Beste Pop Album

Twentig 20 – Brendan Peyper

Best Adult Contemporary Album

Rise – Ndlovu Youth Choir

Best African Adult Contemporary Album

Amakhaya – Max Hoba

Best Alternative Album

iimini – Bongeziwe Mabandla

Best R&B/Soul Album

Uhambo – Soul Kulture

Best Hip-Hop Album

Zulu Man With Some Power – Nasty C

Best Kwaito Album

Ama Roto EP – Reece Madlisa and Zuma

Best Dance Album

The Healers: The Last Chapter – Black Motion

Best Traditional Faith Album

Spiritual Encounter – Bucy Radebe

Best Contemporary Faith Album

Your Kingdom on Earth – Hle

Best African Indigenous Faith Album

Izwi Lakho – Mandlethu Gospel Singers

Rest of Africa

Songs in the Key of Love – Berita

Best Traditional Album

What a Life – Sho Madjozi

Best Maskandi Album

Imfene kaMakhelwane – Abafana Baka Mgqumeni

Best Jazz Album

Modes of Communication: Letters from the Underworld – Nduduzo Makhathini

Best Classical/Instrumental Album

We’ve Known All Times – Wouter Kellerman

Best Afropop Album

Ngumama – Vusi Nova

Best Live Audio Visual Recording

Journey to the World and Beyond – Sun-El Musician

Best Collaboration

Mali Eningi – Big Zulu feat Riky Rick and Intaba yase Dubai

Best Produced Music Video

Hosh by Prince Kaybee feat Sir Trill – Ofentse

Best Produced Album of the Year

Umsebenzi by Sjava – Delaydem, Ruff, Webmoms, Zadok and Vuyo Manyike

Best Engineered Album of the Year

Inganekwane by Zoe Modiga – Papi Diretsi and Songo Oyama

Remix of the Year

Yehla Moya – Da Capo

Best Reggae Album

Persistence – Bongo Riot

Best Amapiano Album

Once Upon A Time in Lockdown – Kabza De Small and DJ Maphorisa (Scorpion Kings)

Best Gqom Album

Inzalo Yekwaito - Zinaro

Lifetime Achievement Award

Lebo M

Dr Lindelani Mkhize

PJ Powers

International Achievement Award

Master KG

Best Selling Artist

Mlindo the Vocalist - Emakhaya

Most Streamed Song

You’re the One – Elaine

SAMRO Composer Highest Airplay

Kgaugelo Moagi (Master KG) and Nomcebo Zikode – Jerusalema

Related Topics: