Four new directors appointed to SA Post Office board


Asha Speckman

Four new directors had been introduced to the board of the troubled SA Post Office, the organisation said in a statement on Friday.

Sathie Gounden, Templeton Mageza, Sihle Ngubane and Boitumelo Mothelesi were appointed by Communications Minister Yunus Carrim. They will serve for three years and they replace retired members. The board is now fully constituted.

Hlamalani Manzini, the acting Post Office chairwoman, said that the appointments occurred at an “ideal time in the history of the SA Post Office as the organisation is embarking on a determined path to strengthen the pillars of governance, pursuit for alternative revenues and drive for increased customer centricity for long-term growth”.

The Post Office is currently the subject of a probe by the Special Investigating Unit, which has been mandated by President Jacob Zuma to investigate allegations of serious maladministration.

Gounden is a chartered accountant and former chief executive of Gobodo Auditors. He is a board member of the SA Institute of Professional Accountants, the Institute of Directors, Fasset, Sci-Bono, the SA Revenue Service and the Playhouse Company.

Mageza, a senior lawyer in private practice, has previously acted as a high court judge and is a former member of SA Ladder, Millenium Property Group and Mathuba Mining. He holds an LLM degree and a diploma in company law.

Ngubane specialises in information technology (IT) with experience in international information and communications technology. He is the executive director of operations at Sizavox, an international IT company, and is also a director of the Oracle partner advisory board for Oracle SA.

Mothelesi is a consultant in accounting, tax and finance-related matters. She sits on the board of Adrenna, a local property group. Her experience includes banking, treasury and investments. She holds qualifications in commerce and a BCompt Hons and a Master of Business Leadership.

Meanwhile, the National Assembly committee on communications has shortlisted five of the 11 candidates nominated for the SABC board directorship. The shortlisted individuals will be interviewed tomorrow.

Share this story