Post Office gets new board members

Johannesburg - Four new non-executive directors have been appointed to the board of the SA Post Office (Sapo), it said on Friday.

They are Sathie Gounden, Templeton Mageza, Sihle Ngubane and Boitumelo Mothelesi.

Picture: Itumeleng English. Credit: Independent Newspapers

“These appointments occur at an ideal time... as the organisation is embarking on a determined path to strengthen the pillars of governance, pursuit for alternative revenues, and drive for increased customer centricity for long-term growth,” said acting board chairman Hlamalani Manzini in a statement.

“Their expertise in commerce and industry will be invaluable to the sustainable growth of the SA Post Office.”

The new directors were appointed by Communications Minister Yunus Carrim for a period of three years to replace retired members.

In January, President Jacob Zuma signed a proclamation directing the Special Investigating Unit to investigate maladministration, improper conduct, and unlawful appropriation of public money at the Sapo. - Sapa