Zuma appoints fiscal commission members

Comment on this story
ZumaHand.jpg Independent Newspapers President Jacob Zuma. Photo: Leon Nicholas.

Johannesburg - President Jacob Zuma on Thursday appointed three members to the Financial and Fiscal Commission (FFC), the presidency said.

Sipho Lubisi, Gilingwe Mayende and Sibongile Muthwa would be members of the commission as from Monday, said spokesman Mac Maharaj in a statement.

Lubisi is a former Mpumalanga health MEC and speaker of the provincial legislature.

Mayende is a former director general for the national land affairs department while Muthwa is a deputy vice-chancellor at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University.

The FFC is an independent and permanent expert commission that advises and makes recommendations to Parliament, provincial legislatures, local government and other organs of state on financial and fiscal matters. - Sapa

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines