Ricciardo wins thrilling Hungarian GP

Comment on this story
iol spt july27 Ricciardo Reuters Daniel Ricciardo charged to a thrilling Hungarian Grand Prix victory on Sunday, his second Formula One win. Photo by: Bernadett Szabo/Reuters

Australian Daniel Ricciardo charged to a thrilling Hungarian Grand Prix victory on Sunday, his second Formula One win for Red Bull, as a drenched track caused chaos among world championship leaders.

Ricciardo, 25, held off Ferrari's Fernando Alonso to take first place in a race which saw several high-speed crashes after a heavy downpour just before the start changed the course of the race.

Britain's former world champion Lewis Hamilton, who started from the pit lane and span on the first lap, ignored Mercedes team orders to let Nico Rosberg pass, and held onto third place ahead of this teammate.

Ricciardo led twice before he fought back to recapture the lead with three laps remaining, following a series of daring passes, to come home clear of Alonso.

Ricciardo's win was executed with great elan and confirmed him as a driver with the potential to be a future champion. He won the Canadian Grand Prix for Red Bull in June and is the only non-Mercedes driver to have won a race this year.

The two Mercedes men had a fierce battle on the track and via the team radio as they tried to make the most of contrasting strategies in changeable conditions following a heavy rainstorm before the start. Two Safety Car interventions played a major part in creating many unexpected moves in a race of surprises.

Brazilian Felipe Massa of Williams finished fifth ahead of Finn Kimi Raikkonen, in the second Ferrari, defending four time champion German Sebastian Vettel in the second Red Bull and Finn Valtteri Bottas of Williams.

Frenchman Jean-Eric Vergne of Toro Rosso was ninth and Briton Jenson Button 10th for McLaren.

Results from Hungarian Formula One Grand Prix, the 11th in the 19-leg 2014 season, in Budapest on Sunday:

1. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/Red Bull Racing) 1hr 53min 05.058sec,

2. Fernando Alonso (ESP/Scuderia Ferrari) at 5.200sec

3. Lewis Hamilton (GBR/Mercedes) 5.800

4. Nico Rosberg (GER/Mercedes) 6.300

5. Felipe Massa (BRA/Williams) 29.700

6. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/Scuderia Ferrari) 31.300

7. Sebastian Vettel (GER/Red Bull Racing) 40.700

8. Valtteri Bottas (FIN/Williams) 41.000

9. Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA/Toro Rosso) 58.100

10. Jenson Button (GBR/McLaren Mercedes) 1:06.800

11. Adrian Sutil (GER/Sauber) 1:07.600,

12. Kevin Magnussen (DEN/McLaren Mercedes) 1:17.800

13. Pastor Maldonado (VEN/Lotus) 1:23.300

14. Daniil Kvyat (RUS/Toro Rosso) at 1 lap

15. Jules Bianchi (FRA/Marussia) 1 lap

16. Max Chilton (GBR/Marussia) 1 lap

Retirements: Marcus Ericsson (SWE/Caterham): 9th lap

Romain Grosjean (FRA/Lotus): 11th lap

Nico Hülkenberg (GER/Force India):15th lap

Sergio Perez (MEX/Force India): 23th lap

Kamui Kobayashi (JPN/Caterham): 25th lap

Esteban Gutierrez (MEX/Sauber): 34th lap

Overall standings:


1. Nico Rosberg (GER) 202.0pts

2. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) 191.0,

3. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) 131.0

4. Fernando Alonso (ESP) 115.0

5. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) 95.0

6. Sebastian Vettel (GER) 88.0

7. Nico Hülkenberg (GER) 69.0

8. Jenson Button (GBR) 60.0, 9.

Felipe Massa (BRA) 40.0

10. Kevin Magnussen (DEN) 37.0

11. Sergio Perez (MEX) 29.0

12. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) 27.0

13. Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA) 11.0

14. Romain Grosjean (FRA) 8.0

15. Daniil Kvyat (RUS) 6.0,

16. Jules Bianchi (FRA) 2.0


1. Mercedes 393.0pts,

2. Red Bull Racing 219.0

3. Scuderia Ferrari 142.0

4. Williams 135.0

5. Force India 98.0

6. McLaren Mercedes 97.0

7. Toro Rosso 17.0

8. Lotus 8.0

9. Marussia 2.0 – AFP

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines