Malema elected as JSC member

Comment on this story
Copy of ca p4-Julius Malema done INDEPENDENT NEWSPAPERS Julius Malema during his maiden speech in Parliament. Photo: David Ritchie

Pariament - Economic Freedom Fighters leader Julius Malema is among the new members of the Judicial Services Commission elected by Parliament on Tuesday, along with the ANC's former chief whip Mathole Motshekga and former Cabinet minister Thoko Didiza.

The other three members elected to the JSC are the Democratic Alliance's Hendrik Schmidt, the Inkatha Freedom Party's Narend Singh and the ruling party's Dikeledi Magadzi.

Schmidt has served on the JSC for several years.

The members of the National Council of Provinces who will also serve on the body responsible for appointing judges are the ANC's Thandi Modise, who chairs the chamber, Tsapane Mampuru, Dikgang Stock and Dumisane Ximbi.

The National Assembly also named South Africa's new members of the Pan African Parliament.

They are the ANC's Pallo Jordan, Hunadi Mateme and Thandi Memela, the DA's Sandy Kalyan and the EFF's Floyd Shivambu.


sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines