ANC elects national working committee

Comment on this story
IOL news nov 13 gwede mantashe sep 11 INLSA Gwede Mantashe. Picture: Jennifer Bruce

Johannesburg - Half of the ANC's newly elected national working committee (NWC) members are women, secretary general Gwede Mantashe said on Friday.

“The ANC expresses its confidence in the ability of individuals elected to the NWC,” Mantashe told reporters in Johannesburg.

“As a collective, the NWC will play a pivotal role in processing and implementation of conference decisions.”

The committee comprises 20 members.

They are Jeff Radebe, Naledi Pandor, Lindiwe Zulu, Bathabile Dlamini, Nomvula Mokonyane, Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula, Jackson Mthembu, Nathi Mthethwa, Lindiwe Sisulu, Malusi Gigaba, Derek Hanekom, Susan Shabangu, Maite Nkoana-Mashabane, Collins Chabane, Aaron Motsoaledi, Nomaindia Mfeketo, Blade Nzimande, Fikile Xhasa, Tina Joemat-Pettersson, and Sisa Mabe.

They were elected at the one-day national executive committee meeting in Irene, south of Pretoria on Thursday.

Mantashe said this was the first time the African National Congress was enforcing a provision of its constitution which stated there had to be 50 percent representation of women in leadership.

However, the women elected to the NWC were elected on merit.

The NWC will resume its work immediately. It is responsible for the day-to-day running of the party. - Sapa

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines