New batch of young bloods sworn in as MPs

Comment on this story
max sisulu INDEPENDENT NEWSPAPERS National Assembly Speaker Max Sisulu. Photo: Motshwari Mofokeng.

Parliament’s newest MPs, including the youngest, have been sworn in by National Assembly Speaker Max Sisulu.

Chu-Chiao Huang from Cope, and Liezl van der Merwe and Mkhuhleko Hlengwa from the IFP were sworn in on Tuesday.

Huang replaces former Cope MP and treasurer Hilda Ndude, while Van der Merwe and Hlengwa replace former IFP MPs Patricia Lebenya-Ntanzi and Musa Zondi respectively.

Hlengwa, 24, is now the youngest member of Parliament after the DA’s Geordin Hill-Lewis, 25, who was also 24 at the time of his appointment. Hill-Lewis maintains he still “holds the record” as he was sworn in when he was 24 and seven months while Hlengwa was 24 and 11 months.

Hlengwa and Van der Merwe, 31, join Hill-Lewis and ANC MP Mdu Manana, 28, as among the youngest MPs.

Van der Merwe was the IFP’s parliamentary press officer before assuming her new role as an MP. Van der Merwe joined the IFP in 2006 when she became the media officer for the parliamentary caucus.

Cope leader Mosiuoa Lekota said Huang was one of the founding members of the party and had been on the candidates list since the party’s first participation in elections in 2009. He described Huang as a “brilliant fellow”.

[email protected]

Political Bureau

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines