The ANC’s top six revealed

Comment on this story
mangaung dec 18 BUSINESS REPORT President Jacob Zuma's supporters sing at the ANC's 53rd national conference at the Free State University in Mangaung. Photo: Bongiwe Mchunu

Bloemfontein, Free State - The results of the elections for the top six positions in the ANC were announced on Tuesday afternoon at the party’s 53rd elective conference in Mangaung.

Jacob Zuma has been re-elected as ANC president, receiving 2983 votes to Kgalema Motlanthe’s 991 votes.

Cyril Ramaphosa will be the party’s new deputy president, seeing off the challenges from Mathews Phosa and Tokyo Sexwale. He received 3018 votes to Phosa’s 470 votes and Sexwale’s 463 votes.

Gwede Mantashe remains as secretary general of the ANC. His only rival for the position, Fikile Mbalula, received 901 votes compared to Mantashe’s 3058 votes.

Jessie Duarte ran unopposed for the position of deputy secretary general. Her appointment was confirmed.

Incumbent ANC chairperson Baleka Mbeta also retained her position. She received 3010 votes, while challenger Thandi Modise received 939.

For the position of treasurer general of the ANC, KwaZulu-Natal chairman Zweli Mkhize defeated his ANC counterpart Paul Mashatile by 2988 votes to 961.

The results are a resounding success for Zuma’s faction of the party. - NewsFire

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines