US votes against Palestine

Comment on this story
iol new spic Palestine celebrate nov 30 AP People march with giant Palestinian flags during a rally supporting the Palestinian UN bid for observer state status, in the West Bank city of Hebron.

New York - Three of the five permanent members of the United Nations Security Council joined the 138-9 passage of a General Assembly resolution Thursday calling Palestine a non-member state.

France, Russia and China voted yes, while the United States voted no and Britain abstained. “The vote does not mean an endorsement for the establishment of a state of Palestine,” US Ambassador Susan Rice said.

The eight other no votes came from Canada, the Czech Republic, Israel, the Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau and Panama. Among the 41 countries abstaining from the vote were Germany, Albania, Australia, Bosnia, Bulgaria, Croatia, Montenegro, South Korea, Romania and Slovenia.

The countries voting yes included Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, Greece, Ireland, Italy and Japan.


sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines