How to opt out of Gmail’s new feature

Comment on this story


iol scitech nov 2 new look gmail

.

Users of Google's Gmail email service have accused the company of violating federal and state privacy and wiretapping laws by scanning their messages.

Washington - Are you a Gmail user and been receiving some rather odd e-mails from other Gmail users? Google has rolled out a feature that lets anyone with a Google Plus account send e-mails to Gmail users, and vice versa, unless the recipient has opted out.

Here’s how a Google product manager explains it:

“Have you ever started typing an e-mail to someone only to realise halfway through the draft that you haven’t actually exchanged e-mail addresses? If you are nodding your head ‘yes’ and already have a Google+ profile, then you’re in luck, because now it’s easier for people using Gmail and Google+ to connect over e-mail. As an extension of some earlier improvements that keep Gmail contacts automatically up to date using Google+, Gmail will suggest your Google+ connections as recipients when you are composing a new e-mail.”

That sounds potentially useful if you’re the sender – and rather invasive if you’re the recipient. Google does let you opt out, and every Gmail user, but the feature’s default setting will be “anyone on Google+”, so you’ll have to change it if you don’t want strangers cluttering your inbox.

Some critics have quite understandably objected to Google’s making this an “opt-out” rather than “opt-in” feature.

Google notes that people who send you messages in this way don’t actually see your e-mail address. In some ways that seems like splitting hairs – who needs your e-mail address when they can send you e-mails without it?

But there is a difference, in that strangers can only e-mail you once using the Google Plus feature. If you don’t reply or add them to your circles, they won’t be able to keep spamming you.

Additionally, when someone who’s not in your Google Plus circles uses the service to e-mail you, it will go to your “Social” tab in Gmail rather than your “Primary” tab, provided you have tabs enabled.

On balance, it sounds like this service had the potential to be convenient without being invasive – if Google had made it “opt-in” instead of “opt-out”. As it is, my guess is that it’s likely to annoy and confuse a lot of Gmail users who barely even know what Google Plus is and won’t understand exactly what it is that Google’s asking them.

A Google spokesperson acknowledged that there’s something to be said for “opt-in” policies from a privacy standpoint, but told me that Google felt it was better on balance to make it “opt-out” so that people could first see what it is they’re opting out of.

In other words – and to be clear, these are my words, not Google’s – they were afraid no one would use it. And that fear overrode the privacy concerns. – The Washington Post

Hungry for more scitech news? Sign up for our daily newsletter


sign up
 
 

Comment Guidelines



  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

     

Join us on

IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks