London – Australia captain Michael Clarke won the toss and elected to bat in the second one-day international against England at The Oval on Sunday.

England made one change from the side that beat Australia by 15 runs at Lord's on Friday to go 1-0 up in this five-match series.

Fast bowler James Anderson, who suffered a groin injury at Lord's, was replaced by fellow seamer Jade Dernbach, playing on his Surrey home ground.

Australia made two changes, with left-arm quick Mitchell Johnson coming in for Pat Cummins after the teenage fast bowler was ruled out of the remainder of the tour with a side strain sustained at Lord's, and batsman Peter Forrest replacing Steven Smith.

If England sweep this series 5-0 they will replace Australia at the top of the one-day international rankings and become the first team to top the standings in all three formats – Test, ODI and Twenty20 – of the game.

England: Alastair Cook (capt), Ian Bell, Jonathan Trott, Ravi Bopara, Eoin Morgan, Craig Kieswetter (wkt), Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, Steven Finn, Jade Dernbach

Australia: David Warner, Shane Watson, Peter Forrest, Michael Clarke (capt), David Hussey, George Bailey, Matthew Wade (wkt), Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Clint McKay, Xavier Doherty

Umpires: Marais Erasmus (RSA) and Richard Illingworth (ENG)

TV umpire: Aleem Dar (PAK)

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND) – Sapa-AFP