SA names star-studded Paralympics team

Comment on this story
Paralympic_team Gallo Images Team South Africa during the Paralympic team announcement at Olympic House.

The SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Commitee on Wednesday announced the Paralympic squad for the 2012 London Games.

The star studded 62 athletes named are four less than the squad that went to the Beijing Games four years ago. The full Team South Africa:

Athletics: Tshepo Bhebe, Dyan Buis, Andrea Dalle Ave, Pieter du Preez, Charl du Toit, Arnu Fourie, Ilse Hayes, Hilton Langenhoven, Anrune Liebenberg, Michael Louwrens, Teboho Mokgalagadi, Jan Nehro (guide: Duane Fortuin), Zandile Nhlapo, Jonathan Ntutu, Oscar Pistorius, Anika Pretorius, Samkelo Radebe, Casper Schutte, Union Sekailwe, Zanele Situ, Zivan Smith, Marius Stander, Duane Strydom, Fanie van der Merwe, Chenelle van Zyl. Manager: Dion Bishop. Coaches: Suzanne Ferreira, Zelda Hansen, Hennie Koekemoer, Karin le Roux, Ampie Louw.

Team Assistant: Neels Matthyser. Helper: Illse du Preez Cycling Roxy Burns, Madre Carinus, Stuart McCreadie, Jaco Nel, Ernst van Dyk, Gerhard Viljoen. Manager: Mike Burns.

Coach: Ricky Kulsen, Mechanic: Pieter Jansen

Equestrian: Anthony Dawson, Philipa Johnson, Marion Milne, Wendy Moller Manager: Tracey Cumming.

Coach: Chris Haazen. Vet: Sheelagh Higgerty. Grooms: Enoch Cele, Anton Chimbuanda, Elizabeth Newsome, Teri Smith Rowing Sandra Khumalo Manager/coach: Marco Galeone

Swimming: Renette Bloem, Charl Bouwer, Natalie du Toit, Emily Gray, Achmat Hassiem, Hendri Herbst, Marike Naude, Kevin Paul, Shireen Sapiro, Tadhg Slattery Manager: Queeneth Ndlovu.

Coach: Karoly Toros. Coach/Tapper: Karin Hugo.

Tapper/Helper: Eeden Meyer

Wheelchair basketball: Justin Govender, Siphamandla Gumbi, Stuart Jellows, Kyle Louw, Luvuyo Mbande, Gift Mooketsi, Richard Nortje, Kobus Oeschger, Marius Papenfus, Marcus Retief, Jaco Velloen Manager: Willie Riechert.

Coach: Patrick Fick. Assistant coach: Shadrack Moepeng.

Technical coach: Franck Belen

Wheelchair Tennis: Evans Maripa, Sydwell Mathonsi, Kgothatso Montjane, Lucas Sithole. Manager/coach: Holger Losch. Assistant coach: Khotso Matshego.

General Team Management Chef de Mission: Pieter Badenhorst Project manager: Vinesh Maharaj Manager (logistics): Clifford Cobers Logistics: Madira Sehlapelo Manager (athletes services): Chantelle Jardim Athlete services: Dumisani Mtwa Chief medical officer: Wayne Derman Chief physiotherapist: Grace Hughes Doctor: Paul Maphoto Physiotherapists: Given Baloyi, Edwin Bodha, Greshne Davids, Shantal Edwards, Dan Ntseke, Evah Ramashala Classifier: Tarina van der Stockt – Sapa

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines