Neymar, Iniesta in line for Confed award

Comment on this story
Neymar1 AFP Brazilian Neymar has dazzled at the Confederations Cup.

Rio de Janeiro – Neymar, Andres Iniesta, Andrea Pirlo, Luis Suarez, Sergio Ramos and Paulinho are on a shortlist for best player of the Confederations Cup, Fifa said Saturday.

They were chosen by the technical study group of football's world governing body. The winner is to be determined by journalists at the tournament and announced after Sunday's final.

Four players on the shortlist are set to feature in the final between Brazil and Spain at the Maracana stadium in Rio de Janeiro: Neymar, Paulinho, Iniesta and Ramos.

Neymar has scored three goals for Brazil and is the only player to have two man-of-the-match awards. Teammate Paulinho has two goals in three matches.

The two Brazilians are trying to emulate countrymen Denilson (1997), Ronaldinho (1999), Adriano (2005) and Kaka (2009) in winning the Golden Ball.

Iniesta has been one of Spain's best players and was named man of the match in his country's 2-1 victory over Uruguay in their first group match.

Teammate Sergio Ramos tops the rankings for ball-winning, and the defender has helped Spain concede just one goal in the tournament.

Italy's Pirlo marked his 100th international with a goal and has continued to be a pivotal player for the Azzurri.

Luis Suarez scored three goals in Brazil for Uruguay and has overtaken teammate Diego Forlan as his country's all-time leading scorer. – Sapa-dpa

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines