Madrid – Spain coach Vicente del Bosque on Tuesday announced a preliminary 21-man squad for Euro 2012 which does not include the massive contingent from Barcelona.

At Euro 2012, which kicks off on June 8, the world champions will be defending the Euro title they won in 2008, as well as trying to become the first nation to win three straight major tournaments.

Del Bosque has not picked players from teams which still have finals to play.

This means that there are no players from either Barcelona or Athletic Bilbao - who will meet in the Spanish cup final on May 25

- or from Chelsea, who will face Bayern Munich in Saturday's Champions League final.

Around half of the players in Tuesday's squad are expected to be discarded, in order to make way for the likes of Xavi, Andres Iniesta, Cesc Fabregas, Fernando Llorente and Fernando Torres.

Del Bosque plans to announce his final 23-player squad on May 27, two days ahead of the UEFA deadline.

The new faces in the squad are Juanfran, Alvaro Dominguez and Adrian of Europa League champions Atletico Madrid, plus Javi Garcia of Benfica, Benat of Betis, Bruno of Villarreal and Isco of Malaga.

Spain will prepare in Schruns, Austria, from May 22 to 31, at the same training facilities where they stayed ahead of the 2010

World Cup finals.

On May 26, Spain will play a friendly against Serbia in the Swiss town of Saint Gallen, in which the likes of Juanfran, Adrian and Isco will be trying to convince Del Bosque to take them to Euro 2012.


Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Jose Reina

(Liverpool), David de Gea (Manchester United)

Defenders: Juanfran (Atletico Madrid), Alvaro Arbeloa (Real Madrid), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Alvaro Dominguez (Atletico Madrid), Raul Albiol (Real Madrid), Jordi Alba (Valencia), Nacho Monreal (Malaga)

Midfielders: Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), Santi Cazorla (Malaga), Jesus Navas (Sevilla), Benat (Betis), Javi Garcia (Benfica), Bruno (Villarreal)

Forwards: David Silva (Manchester City), Alvaro Negredo (Sevilla), Roberto Soldado (Valencia), Isco (Malaga), Adrian (Atletico Madrid). – Sapa-dpa