PSL CEO congratulates Sundowns

Comment on this story
iol spt may8 Sundowns Gallo Images The Premier Soccer League (PSL) CEO, Brand de Villiers has tonight congratulated 2013/14 Absa Premiership champions, Mamelodi Sundowns. Photo by Lefty Shivambu/Gallo Images

The Premier Soccer League (PSL) CEO, Brand de Villiers has tonight congratulated 2013/14 Absa Premiership champions, Mamelodi Sundowns.

Mamelodi Sundowns were crowned as the Absa Premiership champions following their 3-0 victory against SuperSport United at the Loftus Stadium in Tshwane.

The Brazilians, as Mamelodi Sundowns are affectionately referred to, are now on 64 points with one fixture remaining. Second on the Absa Premiership log are Kaizer Chiefs with 60 points with a game to spare. Mathematically, Kaizer Chiefs cannot catch Mamelodi Sundowns on points after tonight.

De Villiers said: “We are happy to declare Mamelodi Sundowns the winners of the 2013/14 Absa Premiership tonight. This has been a fantastic season for them and I congratulate the club President, Patrice Motsepe, management, coach Pitso Mosimane, captain Alje Schut and the players for a sterling season. Mamelodi Sundowns showed character and determination coming behind in the Absa Premiership championship race and finishing at the summit.”

Bobby Malabie, Group Executive Marketing Communication Citizenship and Public Affairs added: “On behalf of Absa, my congratulations to Mamelodi Sundowns and their Coach Pitso Mosimane, for winning the 2013/14 Absa Premiership. This season in particular has been one of the most exhilarating, and we’ve experienced some amazing and memorable performances which is testament to the talent of our South African football teams. Congratulations also to all the other teams who have competed tirelessly throughout the season, and for helping the game of football to prosper. The stage is set for an even more exciting 2014/15 season, which we are once again delighted to be the title sponsor of.”

Mamelodi Sundowns walk away with the R10 million in prize money. On top of that, Sundowns also won Absa Premiership Quarter 1, 3 and 4 – total of R4, 5 million.

Earlier this week, the PSL announced that the Absa Premiership Trophy together with Q3 & 4 prize money will be handed to Mamelodi Sundowns at their last fixture of the 2013/14 season on 10 May 2014 at the Harry Gwala Stadium.

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.

  5. Verified email addresses: All users on Independent Media news sites are now required to have a verified email address before being allowed to comment on articles. You are only required to verify your email address once to have full access to commenting on articles. For more information please read our comment guidelines