Manchester, United Kingdom - Rio Ferdinand was drafted into Manchester United's defence for the first leg of their Champions League quarter-final against holders Bayern Munich on Tuesday due to an injury to right-back Rafael.

Rafael was ruled out with a thigh injury, meaning that Phil Jones shuffled along from centre-back to fill in at right-back and Ferdinand returned to the side in central defence alongside Nemanja Vidic.

With Patrice Evra suspended, Alexander Buttner was named at left-back, while manager David Moyes elected to name a central midfield trio of Michael Carrick, Marouane Fellaini and Ryan Giggs.

In all there were five changes to the team that beat Aston Villa 4-1 on Saturday, with Ferdinand, Carrick, Giggs, Antonio Valencia and Danny Welbeck the players coming in.

Bayern coach Pep Guardiola was also obliged to make adjustments to his defence at Old Trafford, with Javi Martinez coming in at centre-back for the suspended Dante.

With Thiago Alcantara absent after damaging knee ligaments in Saturday's 3-3 draw with Hoffenheim, captain Philipp Lahm was named as a holding midfielder behind Bastian Schweinsteiger and Toni Kroos.

Arjen Robben and Franck Ribery were selected on the flanks, with Thomas Mueller leading the line instead of Mario Mandzukic.

Bayern, who successfully retained the German title last week, are gunning for a record eighth successive away win in the Champions League, while United are seeking to salvage a season that has seen them fall 17 points off the pace in the Premier League.

Starting line-ups for the Champions League quarter-final first leg between Manchester United and holders Bayern Munich at Old Trafford in Manchester on Tuesday (1845 GMT kick-off):

Manchester United (4-3-3)

David de Gea; Phil Jones, Rio Ferdinand, Nemanja Vidic (capt), Alexander Buttner; Michael Carrick, Marouane Fellaini, Ryan Giggs; Antonio Valencia, Wayne Rooney, Danny Welbeck

Coach: David Moyes (SCO)

Bayern Munich (4-1-4-1)

Manuel Neuer; Rafinha, Jerome Boateng, Javi Martinez, David Alaba; Philipp Lahm (capt); Arjen Robben, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Toni Kroos, Franck Ribery; Thomas Mueller

Coach: Pep Guardiola (ESP)

Referee: Carlos Velasco Carballo (ESP)