Cilic wins as Nalbandian is disqualified

Comment on this story
Nalbandian_disqualified

London – Croatia's Marin Cilic took the Queen's Club title in controversial fashion on Sunday as Argentina's David Nalbandian was disqualified in the second set of the final for kicking an advertising board into a line judge.

Nalbandian, who won the first set 7-6 (7/3), had just lost his serve to fall 4-3 down in the second set when he reacted with a frustrated kick at the board, which was just in front of line judge Andrew McDougall.

McDougall rolled up his trouser leg to reveal a bloody gash and he appeared to remonstrate with Nalbandian.

Play came to a halt and after a delay of several minutes, ATP supervisor Tom Barnes came onto the court to speak to umpire Fergus Murphy and Nalbandian.

It soon emerged that the 30-year-old's petulant behaviour had been punished with disqualification “due to unsportsmanike behaviour”.

Chris Kermode tournament director, explained on BBC: “It's one of those really unfortunate things.

“It was an unbelievable final. Best match all week. Nalbandian ran across in frustration and kicked a panel which went flying across and caught a line judge. He's quite seriously injured. A violation was called immediately...

“Nalbandian clearly regrets what he's done. It's unfortunate. These things happen.

“To have the match ending this way is disappointing, but we're under the governance of ATP rules.

“David feels terrible. It was a pure accident.” – Sapa-AFP


sign up
 
 

Comment Guidelines



  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.