What's NEW on Zando?

Shop our latest arrivals for shoes & apparel now!

Hanekom cleans up at Fiësta awards

Comment on this story

toTrippie nuut 1

Nicola Hanekom and two of the productions she worked on this year dominate the nominations for the kykNET Fiëstas Awards, which were announced last week.

Not only was she nominated in the best actress category for Trippie, but she received nods for Land van Skedels in the best director and theatre design categories. She is also competing against herself in the best newly created Afrikaans pro- duction category.

Then, both productions are mentioned in the best presentation category, which should be a surprise as Hanekom has gained critical acclaim and many awards for her previous site-specific and performance art work.

Trippie has also gained nomi- nations for Stian Bam as best actor and Jaco Bouwer in the best director category, while Land van Skedels also garnered Hannah Barnard a nod in the best supporting actress category.

Another strong contender is macbeth.slapeloos which was nominated in the best actor (Dawid Minnaar), best actress (Anna-Mart van der Merwe), best supporting actor (Charlton George), best emerging artist (Ludwig Binge) and best director and theatre design categories (Marthinus Basson for both).

Bidsprinkaan also garnered six nominations for Elton Landrew (best actor), Gys de Villiers (best supporting actor), Lee-Ann van Rooi (best female supporting actor), Janice Honeyman (best director), Saartjie Botha (best newly created Afrikaans production) and best presentation.


• The Fiëstas Awards, which are geared around Afrikaans theatre productions, will be presented at the State Theatre in Pretoria on February 13 and broadcast live on kykNET, DStv channel 144, at 8pm.


The nominations are:


Best Actor:

Chris van Niekerk for Strip

Dawid Minnaar for macbeth.slapeloos

Elton Landrew for Bidsprinkaan

Stian Bam for Trippie


Best Actress:

Anna-Mart van der Merwe for macbeth.slapeloos

Nicole Holm for Oorsee

Nicola Hanekom for Trippie

Sandra Prinsloo for Die Leo’s


Best Male Supporting Actor:

Charlton George for macbeth.slapeloos

Gys de Villiers for Bidsprinkaan

Marius Weyers for Tango

Tobie Cronjé for Die Leo’s


Best Female Supporting Actor:

Hannah Barnard for Land van Skedels

Lee-Ann van Rooi for Bidsprinkaan

Mary Dreyer for Wie Drink Wat?

Lerato Motshwarakgole for Land van Skedels


Best Director:

Jaco Bouwer for Trippie

Janice Honeyman for Bidsprinkaan

Marthinus Basson for macbeth.slapeloos

Nicola Hanekom for Land van Skedels


Theatre Design:

Jayne Batzofin and Christina Salvoldi for Pruttel

Marthinus Basson for macbeth.slapeloos

Nicola Hanekom for Land van Skedels

Wolf Britz for Oorsee


Best Achievement in a music-driven Production:

Amanda Strydom for Ek loop die Pad

Dorothy Masuka for Dorothy – 60 Jaar

Magdalene Minnaar for Magdalene! Musiek vir die Silwerdoek

Schalk Joubert for Die Wêreld is my Woning


Best Acting in a Solo Show:

Antoinette Kellerman for My Mense

Chris Vorster for Affairs vir Domkoppe

Gys de Villiers for Wit Manne se Wapens

Tobie Cronjé for Ballade van ‘n Banggat


Best Newly Created Afrikaans Production:

Nicola Hanekom for Land van Skedels

Nicola Hanekom for Trippie

Saartjie Botha for Bidsprinkaan

Tertius Kapp for Oorsee


Best Achievement in Classical Music:

The Cape Youth Choir for Om die Wêreld in 80 Minute

Luis Magalhäes & Nina Schumann for Two Pianists

Minette du Toit-Pearce, the US Perkussieduo and Philippus Hugo for Openingskonsert (which is a ATKV Prize Winners Concert) or ATKV Pryswennerskonsert

Petronel Malan for Petronel Malan – Klavieruitvoering


Best Emerging Artist:

Jayne Batzofin for Pruttel

Ludwig Binge for Wie Drink Wat? and macbeth.slapeloos

Nieke Lombard for Pruttel

Die ensemble of Te Veel vir ‘n Coloured Girl


Best Achievement in Dance Theatre and Physical Theatre:

Braam du Toit for his composition in Run

Nicola Elliot for Run

Steven van Wyk & Thalia Laric for their choreography in ‘Skoonveld’ in PLASTIC


Best Achievement in Visual Art:

Diane Victor for No country for old women

Jan van der Merwe for Tyd en ruimte

Olaf Bisschoff for Streeksbiblioteek


Best Music-Driven Production:

Bravissimo! The South African Sopranos

Dorothy – 60 Jaar

Opera Nostalgie: Eoan 80/Verdi 200

Die Wêreld is my Woning


Best Presentation:


Land van Skedels



To vote on our Tonight poll click here

To sign up for our Tonight newsletter click here

sign up

Comment Guidelines

  1. Please read our comment guidelines.
  2. Login and register, if you haven’ t already.
  3. Write your comment in the block below and click (Post As)
  4. Has a comment offended you? Hover your mouse over the comment and wait until a small triangle appears on the right-hand side. Click triangle () and select "Flag as inappropriate". Our moderators will take action if need be.


Join us on

IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks IOL-Social networks