Part of Shamwari Group, Jock Safari Lodge, situated in the southern area of the Kruger National Park, has given a name change to the existing ‘Little Jock’ lodge to ‘Fitzpatrick’s at Jock’.
Fitzpatrick’s at Jock is named after the late Sir Percy Fitzpatrick who was the owner of the legendary, Jock of the Bushveld, where Jock Safari Lodge so aptly gets its name.
The change in name was brought about together with a soft refurbishment of the Lodge, which includes new outdoor furniture and a boma, as well as an indoor fireplace in the main lodge for the up coming winter nights.
Comments Group general manager, Joe Cloete: “We felt it was only appropriate to carry on the history of Jock Safari Lodge and bring in a new perspective and feel to the lodge by the new name, Fitzpatrick’s at Jock, which aims to leave guests with a feeling and hopefully knowledge of a significant part of South African history.”
Sir Percy Fitzpatrick was the author of the book Jock Of The Bushveld which tells the story of him and his trusted dog Jock, that travelled through what is now known as the Kruger National Park in the late 1800’s.
The old wagon road that Fitzpatrick and Jock travelled on runs through the Jock Safari Lodge concession. This area is renowned and considered the best Big 5 game viewing in the Kruger National Park and the Jock rangers regularly utilise this road to educate guests on the history of Jock.
Fitzpatrick’s at Jock Safari Lodge easily accommodates small groups or families and offers an intimate atmosphere and its unique setting, surrounded by African Jackalberry trees, creates the feeling of utter seclusion.