The South African Revenue Services is encouraging people to move away from paper and eFile. File photo: INLSA

CAPE TOWN - The South African Revenue Services (Sars) has released the names of taxpayers who have been convicted and sentenced for failing to submit their tax returns. 

Earlier on, the tax collector confirmed that ten taxpayers, including former Bafana Bafana star Teko Modise, had been convicted and sentenced since April for failure to submit outstanding tax returns.

Sars announced in April that it was embarking upon an initiative with the National Prosecuting Authority (NPA) to enforce compliance by prosecuting taxpayers who have failed to submit their tax or VAT returns, after continuous communication with the relevant taxpayers did not yield the required results. 

Fines ranging from R2 000 to R20 000, as well as an admission of guilt fines, have been handed down by the courts. 

These taxpayers have now submitted their outstanding returns. 

Below is full list of the 10 people on Sars' name and shame list:

Mr Anapurani Samson Joseph representing Tidal Investments CC in Port Shepstone

Mr Christopher John Fletcher

Mr Farhad Ebrahim Limalia representing Aquawood Linen CC in Durban

Mr Michael Sonnyboy Moloi and Ms Regina Pulane representing Happy Recordings and Transcriptions CC in Johannesburg

Mr Niraj Ramral representing SPS Distributors Pty Ltd in Port Shepstone

Mr Pieter Yzelle Morrison representing Taxkon Ficksburg (PTY)Ltd 

Mr Sivalingam Govender Trading as Trans SA in Durban

Mr Thinyane Duncan Leboea representing Qwaqwa Funeral Parlour CC

Mr Tsholofelo Teko Modise

“The taxpayers who have been convicted now have a criminal record, as it is a criminal offence not to submit a tax return within the prescribed time for any of the tax types a taxpayer is registered for in terms of the Tax Administration Act,” said Sars in a statement.