President Jacob Zuma Picture: Kopano Tlape/GCIS

The National Consumer Tribunal has 17 new members as appointed by President jacob Zuma. The the role of the tribunal as a whole is to adjudicate any applications made in terms of the national credit act by consumers, credit providers, credit bureaux, debt counsellors and the National Credit Regulator which includes applications for interim relief and a review of the National Credit Regulator’s decisions. This includes matters referred to by the National Credit Regulator or complaints related to allegations of prohibited conduct and consent orders.


The body was established in terms of section 26 of the national credit act 34 of 2005 and has jurisdiction throughout the country. A decision made by the tribunal has the same status as the high court of South Africa.

ALSO READ: Ruling by National Consumer Tribunal


To carry out these duties, President Jacob Zuma appointed: Prof Joseph Mandla Maseko as Executive Chairperson, Ms Laura Anne Best as Deputy Chairperson, Mr Lulama Andisa Potwana, Ms Diane Reinette Terblanche,  Adv Frans Kgolela Manamela, Mr Xolela Christopher May, Ms Penelope Anne Beck-Paxton, Prof Tanya Woker, Adv Hope Fiona Neo Sephoti, Prof Bonke Clayton Dumisa, Mr Fungai Khumbulani Sibanda, Ms Nomfundo Sylvia Maseti, Ms Maleho Margaret Nkomo, Prof Kasturi Moodaliyar, Dr Maria Claudina Du Toit, Mr Lehlohonolo Lucky Rabotapi, and Mr Trevor Albert Bailey.


Equally important they are there to assist consumers to resolve disputes and obtain redress against credit providers who have contravened the Act in this way protecting consumers.