GQ Men of the Year Awards at the Tate Modern in London

Rose McGowan became the first female recipient of the Inspiration Award at the GQ Men of the Year Awards on Wednesday.

The 45-year-old actress-and-activist made history during the star-studded awards ceremony at the Tate Modern in London, as she collected the prestigious honour for her brave decision to speak out about the alleged sexual harassment she suffered at the hands of disgraced Hollywood producer Harvey Weinstein.

Speaking about her win, Rose said: "It feels pretty special. It's really nice to be recognised for the years of behind-the-scenes work that I've done and some in front of the scenes.

"But I simply come as representative for those who don't have voices and I feel like I stand in for them, so if I feel like I'm being honoured, it's they who are being honoured."

The former 'Charmed' star - who attended the event with her partner, non-binary model Rain Dove - was one of the first women to accuse Weinstein of sexual assault, and helped pave the way for dozens of others to tell their story and be heard.

Elsewhere in the evening, Prince Charles was awarded the Lifetime Achievement award for his services to philanthropy, in recognition of his position as president or patron of over 400 charities, which raise a total of more than £150 million annually for their causes.

Dua Lipa was given the award for Solo Artist, whilst Tottenham Hotspur and England soccer player Harry Kane was named Sportsman of the Year, and 'Black Panther' star Chadwick Boseman was given the International Man accolade.

Legendary guitarist Johnny Marr walked away with the Lifetime Achievement gong, whilst Jorja Smith was given the statuette for Breakthrough Solo Artist.

GQ Men of the Year Awards 2018 full list of winners:

Editor's Lifetime Achievement Award For Services To Philanthropy

Prince Philip


Rose McGowan

Solo Artist

Dua Lipa

Breakthrough Designer

Charles Jeffrey

International Man

Chadwick Boseman


David Lammy


Harry Kane

Breakthrough Actor

Tom Bateman

Maddox Gallery Artist

Jonathan Yeo

Editor's Special Award

Sacha Baron Cohen


Michael Wolff

Breakthrough Solo Artist

Jorja Smith

Lifetime Achievement

Johnny Marr

Fashion Icon

Naomi Campbell

Most Stylish Man

John Legend

Brand of the Year

Philipp Plein

Design Legend of the Year

Ralph Lauren

Live Act of the Year

Years & Years

Actor of the Year 

Daniel Kaluuya

Television Actor of the Year 

Elisabeth Moss

Songwriter of the Year 

Paul Weller

Designer of the Year 

Donatella Versace

Haig Club Icon 

Jeff Goldblum