Thabo Rametsi of Kalushi was nominated for a Simon Sabela award under the category Best Actor in a Film.
Excitement filled the air as Durbanites gathered together for the announcement of the  Simon “Mabhunu” Sabela Film and Television Awards 2018 nominees. 

The awards, which started in 2013 with the aim of promoting KwaZulu Natal talent, received over 300 nominees this year, compared to only 136 entries in 2017. 

The awards are an initiative of the Department of Economic Development Tourism and Environmental Affairs and are implemented by the KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission. 

Among those who will be honoured at the awards, which will be hosted on July 21 at The Durban Playhouse, are actors, producers, directors and various film and television technicians.  

Here are the 2018 nominees list: 

Best actor film: Grant Swanby - Beyond the River; Thabo Rametsi - Kalushi 

Best actress film: Maeshni Naicker and Jailoshini Naidoo - Keeping Up With The Kandasamys

Best supporting actor film: Rajesh Goipe and Madhushan Singh - Keeping Up With The Kandasamys

Best supporting actress film: Pearl Thusi - Kalushi; Mishqah Partiephal -Keeping Up With The Kandasamys
Best newcomer actor TV: Sthembiso Khumalo - Judge Khambule; Zamani Mbatha - Isithembiso

Best newcomer actress TV: Nandi Mbatha and Londeka Mchunu - Isithembiso; Thenjiwe- Judge Khambule

Best Film: Kalushi- Mandla Dube; Beyond the River- Jennifer Charlton; Keeping Up With The Kandasamys - Jayan Moodley   

Best actor TV: Zamani Mbatha- Isithembiso; Sdumo Mtshali- Isibaya; Masoja Msiza - Uzalo 

Best actress TV: Leleti Khumalo - Uzalo; Baby Cele- Uzalo; Nomzamo Mbatha - Isibaya

Best supporting actor TV: Simphiwe Majozi- Uzalo; Andile Mxakaza- Isibaya; Khaya Dladla - Uzalo

Best supporting actress TV: Nokuthula Mabika - Uzalo; Linda Sobezo -Isibaya; Londeka Mchunu - Isithembiso 

Best Director short film: Nathan Rice - Faulty; Lianne Hassim- Behind the Monologue; Lianne Hassim- Gracie

Best director Film: Mandla Dube - Kalushi; Jayan Moodley -Keeping Up With The Kandasamys

Best micro-budget feature film: Uvusikhaya- Zamo Missie; Gangster Love- Simphiwe Mkhize; Umfelokazi 3 - Minenhle Gumbi

Best use of KZN as filming location: Beyond the River- Jennifer Charlton; Jayan Moodley- Keeping Up With The Kandasamys

Best isiZulu film: Uthando Luyabekezela- Thulisile Gumede; Umgcagco Wezinyembezi- Zama Missie; Isiphetho- Ncamisile Ngcobo

Best documentary short: Behind the Monologue- Pragna Parsotam-Kok; F is for Father- Siphesihle Mthembu

Best documentary feature length: The Funs Not Over - Michael Cross

Best student film: Forever - Lindo Langa; Umsolwa- Minenhle Luthuli; Bars- Minenhle Luthuli

Best short film: Faulty - Nathan Rice; Wide Eyed- Dayakar Padayachee; Daddy’s Boy- Tiny Mungwe

Simon “Mabhunu” Sabela Film and Television Awards is scheduled to take place on July 21 at the Durban Playhouse.