642 Television presenter Luthando Shosha gets ready to welcome celebrities for the Metro awards nominations held at the Summerplace in Rosebank. 130113. Picture: Bongiwe Mchunu

Topping the list of nominees for the 2013 Metro FM Music Awards is Afro house crooner Donald, with six nominations.

These include Best Male Singer and the hotly contested Best Dance Album.

The finalists were named last night at the upmarket Summer Place in Joburg. The national radio station, which boasts a listenership of 5.6 million, will host the 12th annual award ceremony in Durban on February 26.

Donald goes up against DJ Pepsi, Tira, Revolution and Metro FM’s Glen Lewis, who has been nominated almost every year for an award.

His Drive-time co-host, Unathi Msengana, is nominated four times for her album With Love.

Her four categories also include Best Female, for which she competes with flavour of the nanosecond Toya Delazy, newcomer Moneoa and Lulu Dikana.

A former music programmer for Metro FM, Fistaz Maxwell, has been nominated in three categories.

Other artists to receive four nominations are Kabomo for his second album, Memory Remains, and Delazy.

Delazy exploded onto the South African music scene last year and enjoyed crossover appeal among teenagers with her electro hip-hop sound.

Her success is echoed in Best Newcomer, which is a strong category and reflects a remarkable growth in new South African music. The other nominees in this category include Durban rapper Zakwe, rock and R&B band The Muffinz, Idols winner Khaya and diva Moneoa.

The nominees in the popular category of Best Hip Hop are PRO, Shugasmakx, Teargas, Zakwe and Khuli Chana.

The Best Kwaito category has the big guns of this homegrown genre – Tokollo, fellow group member Kabelo and Bricks. Professor and L’Vovo Derrango are in the running.

Reflecting the Best Hit Singles on the station are HHP for his big song Bosso, AKA for Jealousy, DJ Vetkuk vs Mahoota for the summer hit Stokvel, Donald for Deserve and Fistaz for another big festive song, Hade Mabebeza.

The selection of nominees in the 18 categories was based largely on their popularity on Metro FM.

The winners are decided by public vote.