Lea Vivier took Best Actress honours for her role in the feature film, Wonderlus.

The Rotunda room at The Bay Hotel was filled with loud cheers as the Afrikaans film-making industry and the media in attendance celebrated the wins of some incredible productions. While the short films will be screened on kykNET, the feature films will enjoy big screen openings before making its way onto the channel. 

Below is a list of the winners at  the Silwerskerm Festival 2017:

Best Director Short Film  – 12 min: Harold Holscher – Langsaan
Best Script: Short Film – 12 min: Versnel – Dian Weys
Best Editing Short Film: Skoon – Johan Prinsloo
Best Director Short Film  24 min: Nico Scheepers – Die Maan val Bewusteloos
Best Script Short Film – 24 min: Soldaat – Amy Jephta
Best Actor Short Film: Carel Nel – Slaaf
Best Actress Short Film: June van Merch – Vossie Vergas Homself
Best Short Film – 12 minute: Versnel
Best Short Film  – 24 Minute: Soldaat

Best Actor: Bennie Fourie – Vuil Wasgoed
Best Supporting Actor: Feature Film: Beer Adriaanse – Wonderlus
Best Actress: Lea Vivier – Wonderlus
Best Supporting Actress: Feature Film: June van Merch – Raaiselkind
Best Original Score: Feature Film: Vuil Wasgoed – Janno Muller en Benjamin Willem
Best Script: Feature Film: Wonderlus – Johan Cronje
Best Production Design Feature Film: Vuil Wasgoed – Merishen Wessels
Best Cinematographer: Feature Film: Willie Nel – Meerkat Maantuig
Best Editing: Feature Film: Vuil Wasgoed – Quinn Lubbe
Best Director: Feature Film: Morné du Toit – Vuil Wasgoed
Best Feature Film: Vaselinetjie