Kwaito music group Trompies. Picture: Matthews Baloyi
Kwaito legends Trompies have been added to the bill at Afropunk Joburg on Sunday, December 30 and Monday, December 31 at Constitution Hill.

Formed in Soweto in the ‘90s, Trompies were central to creating the music and movement known as kwaito, and their repertoire spans over 20 years of hits which are sure to get crowds dancing at the highly anticipated year-end bash in the city of Jozi. 

Opening the proceedings will be the winners of the Afropunk Joburg Battle Of The Bands: Red Robyn, a singer from Durban and PE’s Ikati Esengxoweni, the soulful acoustic duo from Port Elizabeth, have won this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to wow crowds at the internationally beloved festival. 

This year's theme is 'The People Resist',  a call to action against racism, patriarchy and any form of hate.  

Trompies, Ikati Esengxoweni and Robyn will join Kwesta, DJ Maphorisa, Thandiswa, Moonchild Sanelly, Phuzekhemisi, Ready D, The Internet, Thundercat, Flying Lotus, Kaytranada, Muzi, Azagaia, YoungstaCPT, Dope Saint Jude, FAKA,  BBZ, Big Freedia, Nomisupasta, Automatic Live, Azagaia and BCUC. Anais B, TYGAPAW,  K-$, DJ Coco.em, Deniece Marz and Phatstoki will be on the decks.  

This year festival will be hosted by two radio DJs,  YFM’s Carissa Cupido and 5FM’s vibrant Smash Afrika as well as longtime AFROPUNK host, America based Gitoo.